Sam Wyssen – The founder of Wyssen Avalanche Control AG

We dedicate this page to our kind-hearted boss and friend Sam Wyssen, who unfortunately died much too early in a tragic accident.

The beginnings of Wyssen Avalanche Control AG go back to 1974, when the Wyssen Seilbahnen company – at that time still under the direction of the founder Jakob Wyssen – built one of the first blasting ropeways for preventive avalanche triggering at Weissfluhjoch in Davos. Over the years, more blasting ropeways have been sold and installed in Switzerland.

The business of controlled avalanche release really took off with the commitment of the founder’s grandson: Sam Wyssen. Even as a young boy, Sam was very creative, inventive, and adventurous. All of these traits contributed to the success of the business and would also distinguished Sam as a unique and capable leader.

Sam worked as a mechanical engineer in the family company Wyssen Seilbahnen and gained several years of professional experience abroad. He was able to implement many exciting cable car projects, such as the world’s largest suspension bridge at the time,”Störebelt” in Denmark. This was a milestone for him personally but also for the company. He was also the project manager for individual small cable cars used to trigger avalanches.
The projects for controlled avalanche release never left his mind. Sam had found his calling: working to tame natural hazards. He invested a lot of time and energy in his avalanche blasting system. During the “avalanche winter” of 1999, he met, by chance, Hansueli Gubler, one of the most renowned avalanche researchers. He supported him in this undertaking. Together they spent hours developing, testing, and optimizing Sam’s concept for an avalanche tower. On many occasions they worked until after midnight and then were right back at it the next morning at 5 am.

In 2009, 10 years after the first prototype, he founded Wyssen Avalanche Control AG.

Sales of avalanche towers grew steadily in Switzerland and Austria, but the company had a harder time gaining a foothold in other countries. So Sam decided to keep on studying, earning an EMBA with a focus on international market development.
Sam benefited a lot from this experience and was able to apply his newly acquired knowledge well. The company was finally able to crack the markets in Norway, Canada, Chile, and the US. Thanks to Sam’s commitment, the company made it to the finals of the Swiss Export Award (SGE) and even managed to win the Prix Montagne.
The range of products kept growing, too, and, with his addition of detection systems for avalanches, Sam once again showed he had a great sense of timing.

Sam never stood still and kept growing. He did a lot of advanced training courses related to the avalanche control industry. It was always very important to him that he could help other people – so he invested ample time in supervising diploma theses of HF technicians. He also provided his valuable input to other boards of directors, including 6 years with Bergbahnen Engstligenalp and then with Raiffeisenbank Frutigland since 2014.
In 2015, he completed his training as an expert in management consulting at the Raiffeisen corporate center. This further added to his expertise and the company always benefited from this knowledge.

Sam often spoke of good luck, but it was his cleverness, farsightedness, his sensitivity, and his diligence that brought the company the success that we enjoy today. Last but not least, I would certainly like to thank the good team behind Wyssen Avalanche Control.

Sam was a boss who wasn’t just a boss. Above all, he was a good friend, a good listener, an advisor, just a good-hearted person.

On July 25, 2020, Sam was killed much too early in a tragic plane crash.

Dear Sam, thank you for everything!
We miss you immensely!

sam00
sam02
sam05
sam03
sam10
Contact us

Write a message here. We will contact you as soon as possible.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

Der Gründer der Wyssen Avalanche Control AG

Wir widmen diese Seite unserem herzensguten Chef und Freund Sam Wyssen, der leider viel zu früh bei einem tragischen Unfall ums Leben gekommen ist.

Die Anfänge der Wyssen Avalanche Control AG führen bereits ins Jahr 1974 zurück, als die Firma Wyssen Seilbahnen – damals noch unter Leitung vom Gründer Jakob Wyssen – eine der ersten Sprengseilbahnen zur vorbeugenden Lawinenauslösung am Weissfluhjoch in Davos gebaut hat. Über die Jahre hinweg wurden weitere Sprengseilbahnen in der Schweiz verkauft und installiert.

So richtig ins Rollen kam das Geschäft zur kontrollierten Lawinenauslösung mit dem Engagement vom Enkel des Gründers: Sam Wyssen. Bereits als kleiner Junge war Sam sehr kreativ, erfinderisch und abenteuerlustig. Alles Eigenschaften, die zum Erfolg des Geschäfts beigetragen und die Sam als Person bis zuletzt ausgezeichnet haben.

Sam war als Maschineningenieur im Familienunternehmen Wyssen Seilbahnen tätig und konnte mehrere Jahre Berufserfahrung im Ausland sammeln. Er konnte viele spannende Seilbahnprojekte umsetzen, wie zum Beispiel die damals weltweit grösste Hängebrücke „Störebelt“ in Dänemark, die für ihn persönlich aber auch für die Firma als Meilenstein gilt. Er war ebenfalls Projektleiter für einzelne Kleinseilbahnen zur Lawinenauslösung.
Das Projekt zur kontrollierten Lawinenauslösung ging ihm nicht aus dem Kopf. Sam hatte seine Berufung in der Naturgefahrenbranche gefunden. Er investierte sehr viel Zeit und Energie in sein System zur Lawinensprengung. Im «Lawinenwinter» 1999 lernte er per Zufall einen der anerkanntesten Lawinenforscher kennen –  Hansueli Gubler. Er hat ihn bei diesem Unternehmen unterstützt. Zusammen haben sie Sams Idee von einem Lawinen-Sprengmast stundenlang «ausgetüftelt», getestet und optimiert. Nicht selten arbeiteten sie bis nach Mitternacht und haben am nächsten Morgen um 5.00 Uhr wieder an den Magazinen herum geschraubt.

Im Jahre 2009, 10 Jahre nach dem ersten Prototypen, gründete er die Firma Wyssen Avalanche Control AG.

Der Verkauf der Lawinen-Sprengmasten stieg in der Schweiz und in Österreich stetig an, jedoch lief es im weiteren Ausland nur schwierig und harzig an. Darum entschied sich Sam für ein weiteres Studium: EMBA mit Schwerpunkt internationaler Marktentwicklung.
Sam profitierte viel davon und konnte sein neu erworbenes Wissen gut anwenden. Er schaffte es, dass die Firma in Norwegen, Kanada, Chile und in den USA Fuss fassen konnte. Das Unternehmen schaffte es dank Sams Engagement beim Swiss Export Award (SGE) bis ins Finale und konnte sogar den Prix Montagne gewinnen.
Auch die Produktpalette wurde immer wie grösser, mit Detektionssystemen für Lawinen hatte Sam wieder einmal den richtigen Riecher zur richtigen Zeit.

Sam stand nie still und hat sich ständig weiterentwickelt. So hat er viele Weiter- und Fortbildungen in der Lawinenbranche gemacht. Es war ihm auch immer ein grosses Anliegen, dass er anderen Menschen helfen konnte – so hat er zahlreiche Stunden bei der Betreuung von Diplomarbeiten zum Techniker HF investiert. Seine wertvollen Inputs brachte er auch extern in diversen Verwaltungsräten ein. Während 6 Jahren bei den Bergbahnen Engstligenalp und seit 2014 bei der Raiffeisenbank Frutigland.
2015 schloss er die Ausbildung zum Expert für Unternehmensberatung beim Raiffeisen Unternehmenszentrum ab. All diese Sachen haben ihn bereichert und von diesem Wissen durfte auch die Firma immer profitieren.

Sam sprach oft von viel Glück, dabei waren es seine Cleverness, seine Weitsichtigkeit, sein gutes Feingefühl und sein Fleiss, die das Unternehmen zu diesem Erfolg gebracht hat und heute geniessen darf. Sicher auch nicht zuletzt dank dem guten Team im Rücken.

Sam war ein Chef, der nicht einfach nur Chef war. Er war vor allem ein guter Freund, ein guter Zuhörer, Ratgeber, einfach ein herzensguter Mensch.

Am 25. Juli 2020 ist Sam viel zu früh bei einem tragischen Flugzeugabsturz ums Leben gekommen.

 

Lieber Sam, vielen Dank für Alles!
Du fehlst uns unendlich!

sam00
sam02
sam05
sam03
sam10
Contact us

Write a message here. We will contact you as soon as possible.

Nicht lesbar? Neuer Text. captcha txt

Beginnen Sie zu schreiben & drücken Sie Enter